← Compound library
MOTS-c
A mitochondrial-derived peptide studied mainly for metabolism in mice. Human data are observational only, and no completed human trial of giving it to people appears here.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | None published |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 1 |
| Published records retrieved | 17 |
| Registered trials | 9 |
| Certificate of analysis | Published by the partner |
| Regulatory status | Research-grade material, no approved human use |
1. The protocol on record
Hard disclaimer. Figures below are transcribed from a published study or an approved label exactly as the source states them. They record what researchers administered in a trial population, not instructions for any person, and none of it is adjusted to you. Most compounds here have no approved human use. Do not act on any of it without a licensed prescriber who knows your history.
Amounts and schedules, human record
No published human protocol exists for MOTS-c in the cited record. No amount, frequency or schedule can be given here without inventing it, and this page does not invent figures.
Animal and laboratory models (not human figures)
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mouse immobilization-induced skeletal muscle atrophy model, MOTS-c-treated group | 15 mg/kg | per day | not stated | injection | 8 days | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
No half-life, clearance or duration-of-action figure is stated anywhere in the cited record. The record does state one dosing frequency: 15 mg/kg per day by injection for 8 days, in a mouse model of immobilization-induced skeletal muscle atrophy (PMID: 38170165). That is an animal figure, not a human schedule. A phase 2 trial in adults with prediabetes and overweight or obesity is listed as recruiting, but its record states no amount, frequency, route or schedule (NCT07505745). No human dosing frequency is stated in the cited record.
Handling and storage
- Lyophilised storage: Not stated in the cited record. - Storage after reconstitution: Not stated in the cited record. - Temperature: Not stated in the cited record. - Light: Not stated in the cited record. - Stability duration: Not stated in the cited record.
These figures summarise what published research and approved labels describe. They are educational, not a recommendation or a personal protocol. Any dose, schedule, or decision to use a compound belongs with a licensed prescriber.
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
| Effect | How often reported | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exacerbation of the senescence-associated secretory phenotype (SASP): increased secretion of IL-6, IL-1β, IL-8, IL-10 and tumor necrosis factor α by senescent cells | frequency not stated | senescent cell model (in vitro) | PMID: 30058454 |
Cautions stated in the literature
- Rigorous human safety data for unapproved peptides including MOTS-c are scarce, and there is potential for serious harm to patients; MOTS-c appears in the review's list of unapproved compounds marketed direct to patients outside regulatory oversight (PMID: 41966639).
- No effective method of applying MOTS-c in the clinic has been developed (PMID: 36761202).
- A naturally occurring K14Q MOTS-c variant has reduced CK2 binding and does not activate CK2; male carriers showed a higher risk of sarcopenia and type 2 diabetes in an age- and physical-activity-dependent manner, meaning genotype may alter response (PMID: 39559755).
Stop and get help
- A severe or worsening reaction of any kind.
- Signs of an allergic reaction: rash, itching, swelling of face or throat, trouble breathing, dizziness.
- Signs of injection-site infection: spreading redness, warmth, swelling, pus, fever.
- Any effect that is unexpected and persistent.
MOTS-c at Peptara Labs
Open the MOTS-c pageRead the third-party certificate of analysis before anything else. Research-grade material, research use only.