← Compound library
Glutathione
A tripeptide antioxidant made in the body and studied in many small human trials. No approved therapeutic use appears here, and the skin-lightening evidence is called inconclusive.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | 16 figures |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 5 |
| Published records retrieved | 43 |
| Registered trials | 20 |
| Certificate of analysis | Pending, available on request |
| Regulatory status | Research-grade material, no approved human use |
1. The protocol on record
Hard disclaimer. Figures below are transcribed from a published study or an approved label exactly as the source states them. They record what researchers administered in a trial population, not instructions for any person, and none of it is adjusted to you. Most compounds here have no approved human use. Do not act on any of it without a licensed prescriber who knows your history.
Amounts and schedules, human record
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Randomized controlled trial, healthy medical students, skin melanin | 500 mg/day | per day, in two divided doses | not stated | oral, capsules | 4 weeks | source |
| Randomized controlled trial, mild to moderate acne vulgaris | 500 mg | once daily | not stated | oral | 4 weeks | source |
| Randomized controlled trial, healthy female subjects, reduced glutathione (GSH) arm | 250 mg/d | per day | not stated | oral | 12 weeks | source |
| Randomized controlled trial, healthy female subjects, oxidized glutathione (GSSG) arm | 250 mg/d | per day | not stated | oral | 12 weeks | source |
| Randomized controlled trial, non-smoking adults, low-dose arm | 250 mg/day | per day | not stated | oral | 6 months | source |
| Randomized controlled trial, non-smoking adults, high-dose arm | 1,000 mg/day | per day | not stated | oral | 6 months | source |
| Randomized trial, obese subjects with and without type 2 diabetes | 1000 mg | per day | not stated | oral | 3 weeks | source |
| Randomized trial, healthy postmenopausal women, glutathione plus citrulline arm | 200 mg glutathione with 2 g citrulline | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 weeks | source |
| Phase 2 trial, children with cystic fibrosis, pancreatic insufficient (GROW study) | not stated | daily | not stated | oral | 24 weeks | source |
| Systematic review, oral trials, skin lightening | 250 mg | once a day | not stated | oral | not stated | source |
| Systematic review, oral trials, skin lightening | 250 mg | twice a day | not stated | oral | not stated | source |
| Systematic review, oral trials, skin lightening | 500 mg | once a day | not stated | oral | not stated | source |
| Systematic review, topical trials, skin lightening | 0.5% and 0.1% glutathione (concentrations compared) | not stated | not stated | topical | not stated | source |
| Systematic review, oral studies, skin color | 250 to 500 mg/day | per day | not stated | oral | not stated | source |
| Systematic review, oral study finding, skin color | 500 mg/day | per day | not stated | oral | not stated | source |
| Systematic review, topical study, skin color | 2.0% oxidized glutathione | not stated | not stated | topical | not stated | source |
Animal and laboratory models (not human figures)
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weaned piglet diquat-challenge model, glutathione in feed | 50 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | in diet | 18-day trial | source |
| Weaned piglet diquat-challenge model, glutathione in feed | 100 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | in diet | 18-day trial | source |
| Chinese mitten crab (Eriocheir sinensis) feeding trial | 0, 300, 600, 900, and 1200 mg/kg diet weight | not stated | not stated | in diet | up to 10 weeks | source |
| Mouse oral absorption study | 100 mg/kg | single dose | not stated | oral | single dose, tissue levels measured over 1 hour | source |
| Rat cyclophosphamide nephrotoxicity model, nanostructured lipid carrier glutathione formulation | 500 mg glutathione content of the prepared formulation; per-animal administered dose not stated | not stated | not stated | oral | not stated | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
No half-life, clearance value, or duration of action is stated anywhere in the cited record. What the record does state is dosing frequency. Human trials and reviews describe oral glutathione once daily (PMID:41014073), 500 mg/day in two divided doses (PMID:20524875), 250 mg once a day, 250 mg twice a day, and 500 mg once a day (PMID:39444151), 250 or 1,000 mg/day for 6 months (PMID:24791752), and oral dosing daily for 24 weeks (PMID:32960827). These frequencies come from trial designs, not from any stated pharmacokinetic rationale. Two cited findings describe time courses without stating a half-life: - In a mouse oral absorption study, plasma GSH rose from 30 microM to 75 microM within 30 m
Handling and storage
- Lyophilised storage: Not stated in the cited record. - Storage after reconstitution: Not stated in the cited record. - Temperature: Not stated in the cited record. - Light: Not stated in the cited record. - Stability duration: Not stated in the cited record. One related formulation finding is on record: a rat study prepared a nanostructured lipid carrier glutathione formulation by emulsification-solvent-evaporation, and reported that orally administered pure glutathione showed no ameliorating effect in that model, stating that pure glutathione is reactive and is chemically transformed during oral delivery (PMID:34946570). This is a statement about oral delivery chemistry in a rat model, not storage guidance.
These figures summarise what published research and approved labels describe. They are educational, not a recommendation or a personal protocol. Any dose, schedule, or decision to use a compound belongs with a licensed prescriber.
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
| Effect | How often reported | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anaphylaxis and hepatotoxicity with intravenous glutathione, described as serious safety concerns aggravated by a lack of standardized dosing protocols | frequency not stated | narrative review of oral, topical, and intravenous glutathione for skin lightening | PMID:40013212 |
| Adverse effects of intravenous glutathione, serious enough that the Food and Drug Administration of Philippines issued a public warning condemning its use for off-label indications such as skin lightening | frequency not stated | review of glutathione as a systemic skin-lightening agent | PMID:27088927 |
| Side effects with intravenous glutathione, stated as a reason it is contraindicated; oral and topical forms described as carrying substantial versus minimal adverse effects respectively | frequency not stated | systematic review of glutathione for skin lightening and melasma | PMID:39444151 |
| Limited side effects with oral administration | frequency not stated | narrative review of oral, topical, and intravenous glutathione for skin lightening | PMID:40013212 |
| Nonserious adverse events, not further specified | "some adverse events but nonserious"; no count or percent given | systematic review of 4 clinical studies in healthy volunteers, oral and topical use | PMID:30895708 |
| No serious adverse effects; reported as well tolerated | none observed during the study | randomized controlled trial, healthy female subjects, oral GSH or GSSG 250 mg/d for 12 weeks | PMID:28490897 |
| No adverse reactions reported | none reported | randomized controlled trial, 40 subjects with mild to moderate acne vulgaris, oral 500 mg once daily for 4 weeks | PMID:41014073 |
| Reported as very well tolerated in both glutathione and placebo arms | frequency not stated | randomized controlled trial, 60 healthy medical students, oral 500 mg/day for 4 weeks | PMID:20524875 |
| Reported as safe and well tolerated overall | frequency not stated | phase 2 randomized trial, 58 children with cystic fibrosis, oral daily for 24 weeks | PMID:32960827 |
Cautions stated in the literature
- Intravenous glutathione is contraindicated due to lack of efficacy and side effects (PMID:39444151).
- Intravenous glutathione is associated with serious safety concerns including anaphylaxis and hepatotoxicity, aggravated by a lack of standardized dosing protocols; the review urges caution particularly with intravenous use (PMID:40013212).
- Adverse effects of intravenous glutathione led the Food and Drug Administration of Philippines to issue a public warning condemning its use for off-label indications such as skin lightening (PMID:27088927).
- There is no evidence to prove the efficacy of intravenous glutathione injections for skin lightening (PMID:27088927).
- Long-term safety of oral glutathione has not been established and warrants more extensive clinical trials (PMID:20524875).
- The clinical efficacy of oral glutathione is described as questionable due to its limited absorption and bioavailability (PMID:30895708).
- Current evidence for the skin-whitening effect of glutathione is described as inconclusive due to study quality and inconsistent findings (PMID:30895708).
Stop and get help
- A severe or worsening reaction of any kind after use.
- Signs of an allergic reaction: hives, swelling of the face, lips, tongue or throat, trouble breathing, or faintness.
- Signs of an injection-site infection if any injection route is involved: spreading redness, warmth, swelling, pain, pus, or fever.
- Yellowing of the skin or eyes, dark urine, or other signs that could indicate liver injury, which the cited record associates with intravenous use (PMID:40013212).
- Anything unexpected and persistent.
Pairings
Co-studied
Glutathione and SLU-PP-332
These two appear in one laboratory study, but only because glutathione was measured as a readout while cells were treated with SLU-PP-332.
Open the pairing brief →Glutathione at Peptara Labs
Open the Glutathione pageRead the third-party certificate of analysis before anything else. Research-grade material, research use only.